Dear John, I’m gone…

I really hate having to write the stuff like I did below.  But I had to close off things with J somehow.  The communication simply ended and I don’t know why.  *shrugs*  So I’ve decided to gather up my self-respect and move on.  Nome – I know how you feel.

J- 

I guess that’s it… 

The subject says it all.  I’m not sure why, but it seems that instead of talking to me about whatever has caused the lack of communication you’ve instead decided to let things wither and hope I’ll just go away.  So I think I’ll grant you your wish.  I just wish you would have said something instead of saying things were fine the last time we talked.

I’m a big boy, I could have handled whatever you had to say.  To me, it just seems a bit rude to ignore someone, especially when you have made future travel plans with them.  So at that I’m rather frustrated though at this point it doesn’t matter.

When someone decides to stop or end something, a courtesy of at least telling the other party involved is customary.  You don’t have to give a reason other than, “It’s just not working out for me.”  It would have been nice to have that courtesy given to me. 

Should you find yourself in a similar situation in the future please tell the other person that you’re through instead of just ignoring them and thinking they will ultimately get the idea.  It will save them 1. A lot of time, and 2. A lot of worry about what went wrong and what they could have done differently. 

I wish you well and I hope you are a great success at whatever you want to achieve in the future.  I really do.

Good luck, and feel free to keep in touch. 

CQ

6 Responses to “Dear John, I’m gone…”

  1. This was very mature of you, CQ, and no doubt it was a difficult letter to write. Good for you for having the courage to do it.

    I don’t know how anyone in their right mind can continue to believe that cutting off contact with someone is a good way to break things off. It’s really the emotional equivalent of a rusty blade twisting slowly through your internal organs.

    Wish we were in the same city so I could buy you a beer or a carton of ice cream or whatever it is that would make you feel better.

    I wish you all the happiness in the world…

  2. Nome-

    Thanks. 🙂 

    I figured it was over about a month and a half ago right after American Independence Day. He just got weird suddenly.

    I had to do the above so *I* could move on. I feel some sense of relief about it actually, so things are already better.

  3. I noticed you stopped mentioning J so I figured something was up. I am going through the same thing, my “guy” hasn’t returned my phone calls or E-Mails for about 2 weeks. He only lives about 40 miles away I went to see him and he said he’s been busy and not had any time to call me. You and I know that we make time for those we care about. It has been as i said two weks since I visited him and he still hasn’t called even though he knows I want him to real bad. So I guess he moved on and I should as well. C’est La Vie.

  4. CQ (and Ed and Nome): a big virtual hug to all of you…

    Men are Pigs.

    (and girls too….)

  5. Girls are pigs. Haha. That’s a new one.

  6. […] News 1 – J *finally* got around to responding to the Dear John, I’m gone note I sent him last week.  Good to know that he’s finally acknowledging what I said.  To his credit he did wish me well in the future himself.  So, I guess not a truly horrible person, but he could have handled the situation differently. […]

Leave a comment