Wringing out the holidays

Today I decided to waste a bit of time at lunch by going to the local outdoor mall to see if any clothing deals are to be had.  While there I discovered the reason that I really hate going to the stores this time of year.  The culprit?  Not lack of parking, not crowded stores, but the little red kettle and the person standing  next to it wearing their wrist out ringing a bell.  I suppose it’s more family oriented than other things they could be doing to wear their wrist out, but annoying nonetheless.

Why is it so annoying?  It’s not the fact that they are there but instead it is the fact that they are at every store in town.  At the department stores I went to they were stationed outside of every entrance.  If you did not put something in the kettle they scowled at you.  How Christian of them.  *shrugs

Give me back the good ‘ole days when the bell wringers (purposely spelled that way) were stationed outside of one door to a department store so that there was the possibility you could avoid them by going in another entrance.   *bah*

8 Responses to “Wringing out the holidays”

  1. Disenchanted Says:

    humbug!

    Seriously, I avoid the kettles. It seems like @ least one of the kettles is stolen every year in Sorta’ Cosmopolitan.

  2. Ding! Ding! Dingding! Ding! Ding! Dingding! What could possibly be annoying about that? Here’s the plan CQ…Go in one door and say I’ll give on my way out! Then go out another door and say I gave on my in! Works every time! If they can be in your face belligerent so can I! What honks me off is how they say look at all we can do here at Salgration Harmy! I say Hell, they should be able to do stuff with all the money they’re raking in! Still it is not right to let one church Wring bells for cash and keep all others away. I say it would be better to keep them all away and have a peaceful Christmas to all and to all a good night!!! Maybe I shuld keep my opinions to myself, I’ll try.

  3. Disenchanted – is the kettle stolen by the same group of kids that put the horse in the office of the dean?

  4. I don’t think they are allowed at Target….so do all of your shopping there!!

  5. I’m thinking of printing off something about how they discriminate against gay people that will look a lot like a piece of currency. Something along the lines of, “When you stop your bigoted ways perhaps this bill will become real…”

  6. HAPPY (belated) BIRTHDAY CQ!!!! So sorry I missed it where did the days go? It is the pits when nobody remmebers, so Sorry!!! I hope it was a good one but then it makes me sad to think you spent it alone. Next year, look out!!!

  7. Still missing you , CQ! Hurry back, Sir.

Leave a comment