I have voted in my first national referendum!

If obtaining the passport didn’t tell me I actually had citizenship, voting certainly does the trick.

I voted yes on each question.  Just as in elections here in the US, sometimes yes actually means no.

The question about nuclear power was incredibly confusing, and after translating it, then translating the translation, I still didn’t understand it.  I had to do a lot of research about the referendum to figure out how to vote against nuclear power.  If there had been an option for hell no (or in this case, hell yes) I would have marked that on my ballot.  The country is much too seismically active for me to even consider saying yes to nuclear power, among other reasons.

There was also a question about if the Prime Minister needs to show up in court if the court calls.  Apparently the current prime ministers partisans have passed a law that the constitutional court said shouldn’t have been passed letting a sitting minister NOT have to attend court proceedings if they are the subject of the investigation or trial.  Put another way, for the time the minister is in office, they are essentially above the law, and don’t have to answer to the court system.

Personally in a democratic/free/parliamentary society I think they should be accountable to the law just as everyone else is.

The other two issues were about water utilities and how to recover expenses due to construction and maintenance costs.  Rather boring compared to the two bigger items.

Now lets see if the votes count.  There is a voter quorum requirement of 50% + 1, and if voter turnout for this thing isn’t at least that, then all the referendums fail.

3 Responses to “I have voted in my first national referendum!”

  1. Silvio Berlusconi is the most amazing prime minister ever — I don’t understand how he keeps getting re-elected. Happily he didn’t do well yesterday. Maybe, just maybe, we are going to see the end of him — and eventually see him in prison.

  2. Hmmm. I do like the idea of the voter quorum …

  3. Could we get anything close to 50% + 1 for a voter quorum in the US? Seeing how apathetic the voters here are we would turn into parliamentary dictatorship with nearly complete disenfranchisement of the people who do vote.

    Oh silly me, I think we’re already there!

Leave a Reply

