Drama free day

I decided today was going to be a drama free day.  Instead of dealing with all the family issues that have been going on, which are leaving me mentally exhausted, I decided instead to shut off my phone and work on a home improvement project instead.

The project was re-wiring the post lamp out in the front yard.  According to Big D, it has not worked with hard-wired electricity for several years.  Last year he purchased a solar powered lamp for it, but it has been quite a disappointment. Instead I decided that since I hauled a bunch of electrical wire out here left over from the home remodel in North Carolina, that I would work on re-wiring this lamp.

This is a labor intensive project that involves a few things:

  1. Digging a trench approximately 20 feet long and 18-inches deep.
  2. Burrowing under the concrete walkway from the driveway to the front door.
  3. Burrowing under the concrete divider between the front lawn and the flower bed between that and the walkway.
  4. Burrowing under the wall of the small planter that the post lamp is in out in the lawn.
  5. Running a conduit to protect the wire.
  6. Running the wire through the conduit and up into the lamp post.
  7. Filling the trench back in after this part is done.

With all this burrowing, I feel a bit like a gopher.

Yes, a very labor intensive project to do nothing more than be able to turn on a single lamp.  Of course, it’s better than having no light at all out there and having ourselves and guests tripping over themselves because they cannot see in the dark.

I’m happy to report as of this posting there is a new wire up into the lamp post that runs through the conduit and back into the garage to a junction box.  Now all I have to do is get it hooked up to the wire running from the switch to the junction box, which I will do another day.

It will be nice to feel like I’ve accomplished something.  Especially after all the hard work that was expended to get it done.

It also makes me feel human again.

One Response to “Drama free day”

  1. Rule #1: always take care of yourself

    I’m glad you took some time out for yourself. 🙂 Us nurses are bad about taking care of ourselves. 🙂 Hopefully you guys will have light soon enough!!

Leave a Reply

