Snowshoes

I have to go to the hills for a couple of weeks to take care of my grandfather while my mother takes a much needed vacation in Hawaii.  I leave today, and by tomorrow morning I’m expecting I’ll need nice, warm shoes and snow gear since we are expecting about a foot of snow at the house, if the weather forecasters are correct.

If so, this will be the heaviest snow they have received since the mid-1980’s.  Fortunately since then, I’ve acquired a LOT of experience driving through this stuff, so if I need to, I can get my grandfather out and to a warm location should the power go out.   When the power goes out, they lose water which is a significant concern, but keeping a 94 year old man warm is more important.  While the heat sources are no electric, the fans that move the air around to warm the house are.

Leave a Reply

