Educational bait and switch

Rant mode on.

My coursework has turned into the academic version of bait and switch and I’m getting quite pissed off about it.

Three weeks ago our program director came in and told us now that we’re nearing the end of the course, we were going to start taking some online tests.  We were given a schedule of what topics we would be covering each week.

Wonderful!  I now know how to study.

At the same time the bar was raised on what would be considered a passing grade so that you can continue in the course.

OK, I can handle that too, I’ve been doing fairly well.

So what has happened?

The past two weeks we’ve been told we’re covering one topic and we get tested on something completely different and unrelated to what we were told was on the agenda.  Something that if I had done it to my students, I would have been burned at the stake for.  Deservedly burned.

What’s really annoying is that the director of the program has admitted they are doing this purposely.  “We are throwing these surprises at you because it has been statistically proven that you will do better ultimately…”

Um, no I won’t.  And PS, I used to work with statistics on a daily basis at my last job, so don’t talk about cute little numbers with me.  Just as you can find some survey out there somewhere that states your view has been statistically proven, I can probably find another that will prove my point quite well.

I’m quite aware that I will ultimately be responsible for the entire scope of what has been studied during the course.  I’m very much aware the state exam will cover this stuff in its entirety.

The program directors statement to me that, “well, you should be prepared for anything…” while ultimately true, doesn’t take into account the fact that we are in a learning mode, which means I need to be learning something, and when an agenda is presented, I’m going to manage my time and study what our objectives are for that particular unit.

While you may think this is helping us, I can tell you that I’m not the only student in this course that is feeling demoralized, disempowered, and otherwise pissed off.

Strange how they started pulling this crap the week after they got the last of the money we owed them.

Rant mode off.

One Response to “Educational bait and switch”

  1. Sorry you’re having such a rough time with school. If it makes you feel better…it’s like that everywhere. I’ve never seen anyone actually KNOW what’s going on or enjoy the ridiculous BS of school. It’s nothing like any other degree…and those not in it don’t understand. It’s simply dreadful to go through…but soon enough you’ll be done! 🙂 Then you’ve got boards, which is miserable. But then you’ll be done and working 🙂 I know that’s not helpful…but it is what it is. eye on the prize my friend! good luck!

Leave a Reply

