More Fags, More Fun!

Today I did something I have not done in over a decade – I visited an amusement park.  The title of this post is a play on words of the advertising slogan for the park I went to, and I use it because it was gay day at Six Flags Over Texas.  All I have to say is I shouldn’t wait so long to visit another park, I forgot how fun they are.

Wheee! 🙂

This park is simply covered with roller coasters.  By happy accident we took a route that took us to coasters that gradually increased in speed as we went from ride to ride.  Starting at something around a top speed of 40 MPH and ultimately eneding up on the last with a top speed of 85 MPH.

The the 70-MPH coaster is interesting in that is driven by electromagnets, goes through two loop-de-loops, and then comes to a stop where it goes backwards on the track until it returns to the station.  This coaster also had an interesting passenger loading platform.  It is a two-car system, and while one car was out on the track, the other is on a moving platform on the side of the main track, off-loading and re-loading passengers, and when the traveling car returns it is put on it’s platform where it promptly slides off to the side as the other car is slid into its place on the main track for it’s turn.  A rather interesting solution as it allows the loading and unloading of two cars in the same amount of time as it would take to normally load one a ride such as this.

The other coaster I liked was the one with no loop-de-loops, but traveled at 85-MPH as it descended from it’s peak of 24-stories.  This is the first time since my time in the army jumping out of planes that I’ve had that feeling I got when I first went out the door of the plane in flight. Personally, I think if Amtrak built trains like this going over the rockies, they might just have a chance at increasing ridership.  LOL

It was a great day and I had a good time with my Texas friends.  Hopefully I’ll have some good times like this with some of my readers sometime.

4 Responses to “More Fags, More Fun!”

  1. I’ve actually been to that park! Granted it was 20+ years ago, but I still remember the fun we had. These days, I am much less inclined to go to theme parks — not because I hate rides, but because I hate lines.

  2. Six flags over texas was the first Six flags park. It is named for the six different flags that have flown over Texas, can you name them?

    Spain, Mexico, Texas, Confederate, French, USA.

  3. @disenchanted: I hate lines too. I also hate crowds, I get intimidated in them. Still, going to a park during the off-season works wonders on lines. 🙂

    @ed: Yes, I knew it was the first Six Flags park.

  4. Did you know that Texas broke off from Mexico because Mexico freed their slaves and Texans wanted to keep theirs?

Leave a Reply

