Life in the fast lane

The bike I rode looks just this one, but this particular bike lives in Ireland if I'm to believe the original caption.

The bike I rode looks just like this one, but this particular bike lives in Ireland if I'm to believe the original caption.

Today I took out the other motorcycle sitting here in the ‘ole garage.  This one is a sport bike (aka bullet bike), a 2002 Honda CBR 954RR.  When my brother told me I could ride it, I was quite happy.  Until now I had only ridden small dirt bikes and his 2000 Honda Shadow 750.

I took it on a 30-mile loop that is a combination of state highways and county roads.  When my brother told me the guy at the store would not sell him this bike until he had ridden another, tamer type for a while, I didn’t believe him.  Now I understand why the shop owner told him this.  All motorcycles are dangerous, but these bikes are nearly suicidal.  While most street-legal motorcycles are zippier than the average automobile, this one passes cars going 60-MPH as if they were parked.  When I passed a car going that speed, I didn’t realize how fast I was going until I had made it the entire way around and moved back into our lane.

I won’t tell you how fast it was going when I finished passing, but let’s just say at that speed I could have:

  1. Finished the loop mentioned above in just under 14 minutes or,
  2. Driven the entire length of Interstate 80 across Wyoming in 3-hours 6-minutes.

The last assumes I don’t need to stop for fuel, which I suspect at this speed I would need to do with some sort of regularity.

This bike can go *much* faster.  Why do I have a smile on my face?

3 Responses to “Life in the fast lane”

  1. Now I think we know why it’s called a bullet bike. Get bro to take a picture with you astride this bad boy. The rednecks around here spit on Honda riders. If it ain’t a hog they don’t like its rider. (I think a hog is a Harley-Davidson Motorcycle)

  2. I’ve never really understood that whole Harley Davidson vs. the world thing. Still, the rednecks on the hogs would have to catch this one first.

  3. Awh. I kinda’ like the look of the bad boys who ride the Harleys — well, at least the ones who don’t have mullets!

Leave a Reply

