Enjoyable weekend

I’m back from spending the weekend in San Francisco with a new friend/potential romantic interest.  This weekend is remarkably different than other times I’ve done similar things with others, specifically because we didn’t have sex.  I’ve come to the conclusion that I have a milestone birthday approaching and I need to become a full-fledged adult.  So being an adult was a pleasant change from the normal gay stereotype of two guys meeting, getting a room, and banging like bunnies.  Nope, we both went into it with the firm line being no sex and we stuck to it.

How was it an enjoyable weekend if we didn’t do that?  Quite simple – we chose to go spend time in the city to get to know each other and have a good time outside of bed.  We did some tourist things, some business (I had to go to the Consolato generale d’Italia to register my new address), plain ‘ole shopping type of things, etc.  Still the thing I enjoyed the most was something most straight couples would take for granted.  That is, public displays of affection.  It was quite pleasant walking down the street, holding hands, and knowing that we wouldn’t get ridiculed, sneered at, guns drawn on us, etc.

It was liberating.

We spent time down at the wharf, down at my college, over in the Marin Headlands, and shopping in Sausalito.  It should go without saying that we spent time in the Castro district, because what self respecting queer would go to San Francisco and not go over there at least once?

This weekend actually returned some joy to my life,  something that has been in short supply since September.

I’m looking forward to spending more time with this man and getting to know him better.  If nothing else, I will have made a good friend.

5 Responses to “Enjoyable weekend”

  1. Sounds like you guys had a really great time. It’s nice to have a fun weekend 🙂

  2. It sounds like my little CQ is growing up. I’m so proud. I’ll bet it was fun being able to act like normal folks if even for awhile. That is the stuff dreams are made of.

  3. @Ed: It was nice being “normal” for a change and not being the outcast. What’s amusing is seeing the shock in the out of state tourist faces when they realize that San Francisco isn’t burning to the ground from a God-imposed lightning strike.

  4. Still there is something to be said for banging like bunnies. My parents and the rest of their congregation just can’t understand why God hasn’t destroyed the Bay area with a gigantic earthquake which they have predicted for many years now. Their pastor likes to say God made Adam and Eve not Adam and Steve. I say if their were a few more Gay couples maybe their wouldn’t be 7 fucking billion people on earth half of which are starving.

  5. I must admit that as sexually driven as I am, it was pleasant to spend time with somebody and not feel pressured to engage in it. I think I would enjoy it with this person at some point, but my primary goal is to get to know people.

Leave a Reply

