Sleaze marketing

Read the italicized text then my comments follow below that.  These are some sleazy jackasses!

Dear CQ,

Thank you for visiting Clearwire.

We noticed that you did not complete your order, and we want to do everything we can to help.

It only takes 3 easy steps to complete your order online – and we’ll even throw in free shipping! Click Here to get started.

Clearwire provides wireless, high-speed internet access that’s fast, simple, reliable and affordable. With Clearwire, you can connect anytime, anywhere within the Clearwire coverage area – at speeds up to 25 times faster than dial-up. And it’s SO simple to install. Just plug in your Clearwire modem, connect it to your computer and you’re online. It really is THAT easy.

We truly look forward to providing you the high-speed internet you deserve — simple, fast and affordable.

Thanks,

Clearwire

The message above was in my personal inbox today.  There is no way to sugarcoat this – this company is sleazy.  Once my Internet service contract is up in March, I will be canceling their service.  This is the third time they have contacted me in the past two-months using sales tactics to make me think I’ve ordered, or tried to order more service or equipment from them and didn’t complete the transaction.

I know I have done no such thing.  Frankly, their marketing practices should be illegal.  The long distance phone companies used to do this (maybe still do) and it’s called slamming. Making someone think they have purchased something and need to pay for it when they never solicited such good or services.

Sadly, during the current economic situation these dregs come around more and more.

Jackasses!

6 Responses to “Sleaze marketing”

  1. yeah that’s pretty sleezy. i do not approve.

  2. Increased invasions of privacy comes with more sophisticated technology, unfortunately.

  3. Hi, thank you for writing this. Just to clarify, this email that you refer to was not sent intentionally. We are testing a new email system, and for some reason the system actually sent out messages from the testing envionrment. You will be seeing an apology in your email box in the near future, discussing the error. If you have any questions, please feel free to reach out to me, and I will do my best to assist you with your concerns.

  4. Ugh. Obnoxious.

  5. This is the same company I wrote about back on July 31 that used fear marketing on me. Really, I almost got caught on that one. I think that it should be illegal to tell someone their personal information has been compromised (stuff I had to give them to get the service) only to be told that to fix it, I’d have to pay something for it. No, if that happened because of them, the solution should be free.

    Here is the original post:

    https://cynicalqueer.wordpress.com/2008/07/31/fear-marketing/

  6. Gee, I guess Clearwire has a staff out there to monitor what is being said about them in the blogosphere. Who knew?

    Regardless, I don’t buy into the explanation. It doesn’t address why they called me twice with a high pressure sales gimmick telling me my information was compromised, when in fact it was not.

    Dear Clearwire – I’ll be leaving in March. I find your service very slow compared to what is available today anyhow, and I really don’t like contracting for Internet service like it is mobile phone service. A less imprisoning service is preferable for my communication needs. Not to mention leaving a comment in my blog to say it was an accident falls on deaf ears when this same practice was used on my phone first… a phone, by the way, that is on the federal do not call register.

Leave a Reply

