Planes, Trains, and Automobiles – Citizenship Edition

Yesterday I went to Philadelphia to work on the citizenship process and came away pi**ed, just fu**ing pi**ed!

I hinted at the fact I had received my recognition letter about three weeks ago.  So I made arrangements to visit the consulate to apply for my passport, which is the last step in this process.  Getting to Philadelphia from Conservative Hell is no simple task as it involves air travel or one long ass drive.  It also costs a minimum of about $200 whenever I have to do it.

After reading the experiences of others that have gone through this process, getting my passport is a mere formality.  All I should have had to do is show up, hand over my application, photos, money and either I’d walk out with the passport or with knowledge that I would receive it soon.

Well, no such luck.  I now have the less than honorable distinction of being the first person to receive recognition of citizenship but getting told I can’t apply for a passport.  Which led me to ask the consular official in a nice way, “What the fuck”?  Their letter states as a citizen abroad I am required to have a passport, they have recognized I’m a citizen, but they won’t issue me a passport.  This makes no sense. 

I asked them to explain.

“The comune (county) faxed us last Wednesday and asked us why they have to record these documents…”

To which I say, “so what”?

This is like your local county telling the US Federal Government that they are not going to do something.  When the US Federal government does this (asks the county to record documents) they are supposed to do so.  In my case, the determination of eligibility is made by the consulate, the comune SIMPLY records the documents.  So if I’m recognized as a citizen, why wasn’t my application accepted?  Why isn’t the consulate doing THEIR job, understanding that this is simply a miscommunication with the comune and that it has nothing to do with me.  Or put another way, why are they holding up the passport?

Yes, I’m pissed.

I get from them, “well write us and check on the status periodically…”  Um, sure.  I would do this but they don’t respond to phone calls, e-mails, faxes, courier services, carrier pigeons, smoke signals, Roman Express 3rd day chariot, or anything else.  So my only option is to go to the consulate (after spending $200 to get there) to ask simple questions.

What a fucking lack of customer service.

Pissed indeed.

2 Responses to “Planes, Trains, and Automobiles – Citizenship Edition”

  1. Tell them you have plans to visit relatives in the country of your people in Europe. Apply for a passport as a citizen of that country. It seems crazy to me that you have to go to another state to apply for a passport. WTF! I would be p*ssed, Royally p*ssed.

  2. that’s totally lame. i say kick their ass!

Leave a Reply

