Well Huck me!

Two posts from me in one day.  I have lucky readers. 

I was over on Elmada reading a post by TQE about John McCain and Mike Huckabee.  This led me to peruse the site for Huckabee where I found the following gem that I call “The imprison US citizens in the USA” act:

8. Discourage Dual Citizenship

  • Inform foreign governments when their former citizens become naturalized U.S. citizens.
  • Impose civil and/or criminal penalties on American citizens who illegitimately use their dual status (e.g., using a foreign passport, voting in elections in both a foreign country and the U.S.).

      

    If I’m reading this correctly, he wants to impose restrictions and penalties on you if you are a dual citizen (I added the emphasis on the word “both”).  However, what is stated here is *not* discouraging dual citizenship, he’s outright wanting to ban it by telling you what you can and can’t do in the second country where you hold citizenship. 

    Um, no.  You can’t do that.  If I’m a citizen of a second country that allows elections, you know I’m going to vote and you can’t stop me.  The US Supreme Court has said as much. 

    Your dual-nationals are subject to the laws of the other nation when they are there, not US law.  Actually, your citizens, dual or not, are subject to the local law when traveling abroad, not US law.  You can only enforce your laws when the citizen is at home or moving through your borders (IE customs and immigration checks).

    Huck me!  *ugh*

    4 Responses to “Well Huck me!”

    1. Huck is crazy…

      America does require that Americans pay taxes on their income every year, regardless of where they live. There are ways to not pay, but you should still file…

    2. Ah yes… the US taxing its citizens abroad, tax issue. So yes, still have to file. But hopefully a non-issue.

      I think this year it was somewhere around $80,000 cap and then taxed on the rest if the other country has lower taxes. However if you’re using any currency other than US dollars, with the exchange rate you may pass that threshold rather quickly.

      When the Euro was introduced, my current salary would have traded at 50,000 Euros based on the exchange rate then. Today it’s just under 30,000 Euros.

      So if I was living in Europe and making 50,000 Euros consistently since the introduction, I would have had a net increase in salary in dollar terms from where I’m at now to just over $70,000 today.

      I would have gone from being no where near the threshold to being very close or over it for US taxation purposes.

    3. Honestly, I think taxing the global incomes of citizens is a very good idea, even if it doesn’t result in a great deal of income.

      It keeps citizens involved to some extent. Canada came to regret, a bit, not keeping its citizens involved when a lot of their citizens who had never lived nor paid taxes in Canada needed citizen services suddenly — as they were living in Lebanon. When the country got involved in that recent war the canadian citizens wanted consular services that were rather expensive.

      If one benefits from ones citizenship one should pay for it.

    4. So the dual possessing Governor of California will be breaking the law? Don’t worry CQ, Huckabee will never be President of these United States. Loved by the Bible belt but hated by all other thinking people he won’t stay around too much longer. The H. R. Clinton/B.E. Bayh ticket will be unbeatable.

    Leave a Reply

