All I wanna do is take a walk

Sing to Sheryl Crow’s All I wanna do

All I wanna do is take a walk
I got a feeling I’m not the only one
All I wanna do is take a walk
I got a feeling I’m not the only one
All I wanna do is take a walk
And not be detoured 3 miles to a different boulevard

I like a good walk at the park about noon
And Lisa walks with me
Out in the sun
We walk briskly as rays fall upon us
Trying to lose some tonnage on our oversized backs
Each step working the kinks out of our  ‘lil piggies
Before they cramp and we curse them out
But we watch the backhoes as they dig up the road

The road worker smiles at me
And says I’m dangerously close the hole
Lisa looks at me with despair on her face
As if to say

All I wanna do is take a walk…

Can you guess what’s been going on as I try to walk at noon these days?  *ugh*  First they tear up the local park adjacent to my office and I can’t go there.  They did this 6 months ago and still have not re-opened the path.  So I remedy this by taking an alternate route around the park through a neighborhood.  Now they are digging up the road on the alternate path.

The problem is that going through the park I don’t have to walk over a bridge, but to take the alternate route I have to walk over two bridges.  Bridge one is clear, no problems.  Bridge two?  Well they have the whole freaking road torn up in front of it.  Then to top it off, I get on the other side of the big boulevard in the middle of my route and they have that road torn up too.

I freakin’ swear they are trying to keep me from getting any exercise whatsoever.

2 Responses to “All I wanna do is take a walk”

  1. CQ, don’t you get plenty of exercise with P? I mean tearing down walls and putting up drywall. Not to mention taking love breaks every hour. 😉

  2. I wish we had the time for “love breaks” every hour when we’re working on the Crap Shack. *ugh*

Leave a Reply

