Am I there yet?

While out in California recently I managed to locate all the final documents I think I need for the European Union Country X citizenship process.  Unfortunately, the county wouldn’t give me a certified copy of the record.  Why?  They stated that photocopying it would damage the record. 

Excuse me?  You mean you have no mechanism in place for people to obtain a certified copy of a document that they have a legitimate purpose in obtaining?  You didn’t seem to have any issue with storing this document in a room that isn’t designed for storing such things and that surely couldn’t be more harmful than a photocopy and certification when someone actually needs a copy.

But I digress.  Though they did say that if I run into a roadblock, that I can call and request a copy and they will send one.  Go figure.

The document in question is the divorce paperwork of my great-grandmother from her first husband.  The ancestor I’m claiming citizenship through is her second husband.  Unfortunately for me,  she used her first married name on the second marriage certificate, her maiden name on my grandfathers birth certificate, etc.  Or to put it another way, I have to be able to provide documentation of how she went from Johnson to Smith to Jones, even though I’m not claiming citizenship through her. 

It’s a mess.

Some people have told me I’m worrying too much, and that I’m OK because I’m not claiming through her.  However, I think it is better to have the documents or know their location and not need them, then to need them and not have them.

I’m hoping that the photos I was allowed to take of the divorce documents in question (odd, flash bulbs don’t hurt them but a photo copier does?) will be enough to establish how she went from Johnson to Smith to Jones. 

I’m thinking I’ll go to the consulate in February to present my documents.  I am *finally* seeing light at the end of this tunnel.  Let’s hope I’m successful.

2 Responses to “Am I there yet?”

  1. It looks like your dual citizenship is asure thing now, congratulations. If Arnold S. Governor of California can have a dual citizenship I don’t see how they could prevent you from doing it.
    I once tried to get the citizenship papers of my Great-Granparents and Grandfather but the court house people said there were hundreds of boxes of records and they could be a number of places or may not exist because their was a fire. So if they can’t prove my Grandfather became a U.S. citizen wouldn’t that make him a citizen of the European country from which he emigrated?

  2. Not unless you get a certified letter of “no-record” from the INS. 😉

Leave a Reply

