Hunting for a job

I’ve started the great search yet again. Since I’m going to be staying in Conservative Hell for a couple more years, I decided I should try to boost my income a bit. I like my current job, but frankly they don’t seem to be in any particular hurry to compensate me for the level of work I’m expected to produce. I’m paid like an administrative assistant for working like a manager. Or, in other words, I feel that I’m compensated about $20,000 to $30,000 less than I should be if I were working at another company.

I would also like to live in the same town as P does. He’s moving today, and it would be nice to find myself a new position sometime soon over in that area. This is so that I can be in a better position to make a move out west at an income level that would at least support my currently lifestyle, in that location. The good news is that there are more opportunities for jobs like I have over in Capitol City than there are here.

So keep your fingers crossed. I have a phone interview with a company over there later today. I hope I make it to round two!

UPDATE 8:00 PM: I made it past the initial phone interview with the headhunter and my resume has been forwarded directly to the employer.  I also received a copy of their benefits package and DAMN!  It’s makes the one I have now look like a band aid and electroshock.

3 Responses to “Hunting for a job”

  1. Good luck! I hope there is only good news.

  2. CQ I have complete faith in you! I’ve never had a phone interview but at least you don’t have to worry about eye contact or tryin got force a smile. I hate that. You’ll still want to smile though. I was taught in Business College top smile when answering the phone. The caller can tell the difference. Your comment about not being paid enough reminds of a joke. The guy says, “how much will I get paid?” the employer says, “Oh, we’ll pay you what your worth.” The guy says, “I’ll have to have more than that!”

  3. Obviously I didn’t learn to type at Business College. My mind and fingers seem to work independently.

Leave a Reply

