Paying the postal service

Gee, the postal service will no longer take your credit card unless the back has your signature on it.  No signature, no transaction.  “See Photo ID”?  Nope, won’t take it, even if you can produce the photo ID.  Even fraud experts tell you not to sign a card anymore.

I’m glad to see the government has decided that the only valid proof that you are the owner of a credit card is the signature that any idiot could put on the back of a stolen card. 

I will *never* sign the back of a credit card.  There are four keys to your financial kingdom in the United States:

  1. Your mothers maiden name
  2. Your date of birth
  3. Your social security number
  4. Your signature

Since the state of California was nice enough to place items 1 and 2 on the Internet, I have to fiercely protect the last two.  That is why the only place I put my signature on an item I use repeatedly are my drivers license and my passport.

I was simply bewildered that the post office refused my card even when I had a state issued photo ID with me that matched the name embossed on the front of the card.

I did like the guy from the article above that signs his credit card slips with things such as Dunkin’ Donuts (when at that retailer) or Shamu when buying things at the aquarium.

I have one thing to say to the USPS and the government in general – Signatures don’t verify identity, but a passport or drivers license does a pretty good job. 

4 Responses to “Paying the postal service”

  1. Soon every person wll have an ID chip placed in them with a needle and they will be able to scan you and know your entire history. It will be so convenient to go into Wal-Mart and walk out without paying as the ID machine scans you and deducts the amount from your account It will be Big Brother at his finest, those who refuse will not be able to buy anything. Welcome to the 21st Century.

  2. Ed – and people wonder why I’m pursuing a second citizenship.

    The irony in this is that this post office trip was made because I was sending off my documents to get certified by the California Secretary of State for the EU Country X citizenship pursuit.

    I was slightly amused by the fact that I have to send the documents to be certified by the state that has made stealing my identity easy, and because I’ve taken steps to protect my identity, the federeal government agency in charge of moving mail around refused to accept my form of payment for the postage to mail my documents back to the state that is causing the entire mess.

    I just love government…

  3. Drivers licenses are crappy IDs and can easily be faked. All I need is your credit card with “See ID” plus a good fake ID (done in minutes), and I’m off using your credit line.

    Stores that accept credit cards that say “See ID” are liable for the charge no matter what…

  4. I don’t sign my cards either and it pisses me off they make me sign the damn thing. I also find it amusing that it’s okay to sign it in front of them because if someone stole my card they’d feel so guilty signing it in front of a postal worker that they’d never use my card again. I always sign it lightly then rub it off if I don’t have enough cash on me. I feel your frustrations.

Leave a Reply

