Challenging Assessments

I am headed to the Conservative Hell courthouse in a few minutes to challenge the assessed value of my home.  It turns out that they have 162 square feet of space listed as heated that is actually an enclosed porch without heat.  That is raising the assessed value by about $20,000 and makes my property tax bill about $250 higher than it should be.

Generally homes in this area are assessed at a rate lower than full-market value.  They should lower the assessment for no other reason that they are charging me taxes on a value that is about $10,000 more than I could get if I sold the house.  Even on market value of the house the amount of tax paid is unfair. 

Wish me luck.

3 Responses to “Challenging Assessments”

  1. Wishing you all the luck in the World. Dealing with these morons won’t be easy.

  2. Well it is postponed until tomorrow. I went out to lunch with friends instead. *grins*

  3. I hope he took you someplace nice and paid for the meal. Well, you’ll just have to try again tomorrow. Take all the proof you have that you have been overcharged. The wheels of justice move slower than molasses in January. Expect a refund in 2 maybe 3 years. Good luck with everything.

Leave a Reply

