Paperwork Saturday

Today I did mostly nothing until about 4:00 this afternoon.  I went out and met someone that I had been talking to on-line for a couple of months.  We had not met up earlier because our schedules did not allow it.

When I got home, I spent the next few hours cleaning-up my paperwork that has accumulated for the past year and a half since I moved into the house.  It feels *wonderful* to have all this finished.  Now when I open up my file with the paperwork in it I no longer hear voices plotting my death.  All nice and organized now.  It was certainly a shred-a-thon in the ‘ole crap shack today.

I also looked further into my jure sanguinis petition paperwork.  For those of you that have no idea what I’m talking about please refer to my post back in June 2006 where I spoke about it.   I’m starting to encounter a few issues with it as I pull the documentation for it.  Chiefly that my ancestors birth-date on his EU country X birth certificate is not matching up with his birth-date on documents in the USA.  This is problematic since if the date varied on documents inside the USA I could petition a court to correct them.  Unfortunately the disconnect is occurring with a cross-border issue.  If I can’t get this resolved I’m sunk.

The good news is that everything else lines up from that document going forward.  So once if figure that out, I should be clear to proceed and get my passport to EU country X which will allow me to live and work in many countries in Europe.

I think I’ll start sanding out the bathroom tomorrow.  I’ve had some success with painting other rooms and feel like I can start back in on that now.  My will-power to remodel was drained since that was the ONLY room I had worked on.

If you don’t hear from me sooner, have a nice weekend.

4 Responses to “Paperwork Saturday”

  1. I’m glad you’ve met someone. Keep us informed as to how it is going, we care.
    Sorry about the European Ancestor foul up. I have no idea how to help but can only relate my own experience. My Great-Grandfather was born in England. He came here in 1904. On his gravestone it reads born 1864. While I was researching family history i learned that he was actually born in December 1863. It seems that he was baptized in 1864. The custom of the time was to actually use the baptismal date as the birth date. Sort of a rebirth. They were angilicans. I don’t know what religion your ancestors were but that might account for the different birthdates.
    You have a nice weekend too.

  2. I’ve actually given some thought to that being the issue. The only way I can check is to go to European country X and find the church, or the place that has the records from the church. I’m doubting this is the case since the discrepancy is 340 days. It would be odd to baptize a child nearly a year after his birth, right? Those in the know, please correct me if I’m wrong.

    I almost think maybe his parents had a child before him and that it died and they tried again and gave my great-grandfather the same name. Who knows? I just know I got to get this sorted out or I’m in trouble.

  3. 340 days…your right in my research they never waited more than a couple of months and that was only if it was a bad Winter. It is usually done on the 8th day after they are born. I think your idea about them losing a child it happened a lot back then. Naming the child the same as the one they lost is a good possiblilty. It happened in my mothers side of the family. They named a child after his father then he died when only a few days old. Then they named the next boy the same name. You may be able to write to the church and ask for the information. I tried that in England and they said they have sent all their records to the Royal Recordkeeper in London.

  4. I’m hoping it is something as simple as this. Though I’m not sure if my great-granfather is the first son in the family. I do know he had a brother that lived until the mid-1950’s, but am unsure of the brothers birthdate, but if I look on the papers, it is probably on the 1920 and 1930 census records I found.

    I’m worried that this date issue will create problems. If all the discrepancies were on documents in the US I could probably change them easily with help from my grandfather. However, this is a cross-border issue.

    I will likely need to travel to the hometown in European Union Country X to see if I can track down stuff. I have relatives there I’ve yet to meet. I should write them. *grins*

Leave a Reply

