Death needs a holiday

The Grim Reaper is stalking my family.  

Dear Grim Reaper:

Please don’t take any more members of my family for a few months at least.  I could really use the break and quite frankly you’re wearing me out psychologically.  I’ll buy you a nice vacation to Hawaii or something, just leave us alone.  

Thanks,

CQ 

When I went out to California in December my great-uncle (grandfather’s brother) died.  He had been rather ill and had not told anyone about how bad things were.  This was a damper on my vacation as I needed to help the family clean-up the house so that my grandfather’s other brother and my cousins could come stay with us.

I called my mother last night and guess what?  My other great-uncle died earlier this week.  The same one that drove down to visit us while I was in California for the funeral. 

*sigh*  I’m sad.  My grandfather has lost both of his last two brothers in a month and half.  His older brothers had died 15 and 30 years ago.

4 Responses to “Death needs a holiday”

  1. My condolences for your loss. It seems that all my Great Aunts and Uncles died within a few years of each other. Having lost a Nephew the day after Christmas I know how depressing it can be.
    I still think he is just away and will be home soon. I can’t believe his young life is over so soon.

  2. I’m sorry to hear the news–my condolences and best wishes.

  3. I’m having a *really* difficult time with this and I don’t know why. I’m not sure if it is because 2 family members died this close to the other or if it is something else. Some part of me thinks it is because I’ve lived detached from my family for ten years and now in my subconscious I’m realizing that I should be nearer to them.

    Quite frankly I’m depressed and my mood is crappy. I’m going to try to throw myself into painting the back bedroom (the one TQE stayed in while here) tomorrow and hopefully a success on the house will help me feel better. I just don’t want to get to the point I sleep all day and don’t want to do anything.

  4. *hugs* i’m so sorry for your loss, it’s never easy no matter how close you are to them *sends lots of love*

    on the somewhat bright side…in 8 days you can stalk me for 2 days :D:D:D:D:D I’ll be looking for you behind the bushes. not that it will make up for your loss but maybe it will take your mind off of things?

    xoxoxo hope this week is better for you.

Leave a Reply

