Who said this?

This was not said in the modern era, but it is definitely relevant today.  I’ll give you a hint – this famous person, now deceased, was born in Conservative Hell.

“We must not confuse dissent with disloyalty,” he said. “We must remember always that accusation is not proof, and that conviction depends upon evidence and due process of law.”

“We will not walk in fear, one of another. We will not be driven by fear into an age of unreason, if we dig deep in our history and our doctrine, and remember that we are not descended from fearful men, not from men who feared to write, to speak, to associate, and to defend causes that were for the moment unpopular.”

I’ve been seeing this posted quite a bit lately in response to Secretary of Warmongering, Donald Rumsfeld’s speech equating dissenters with Nazi’s.

Anyone care to guess who is quoted above?

5 Responses to “Who said this?”

  1. I’ll guess one of America’s greatest journalists, namely Edward R. Murrow. It was Ben Franklin who said, “If you give up Freedom for Security you neither deserve Freedom or Security.”

  2. *ding* We have a winner!

  3. I thought Edward R. Murrow was born at Pole Cat Creek but I think it is near Greensboro. What do you mean not the modern era? I remember seeing him on T.V. He had a deep and comforting voice that was reassuring.

  4. Cynical Queer Says:

    He died in 1965. So to me that isn’t the modern era… to be modern things have changed quite a bit. Personal computers, better automobiles, much more freedom of movement thanks to improved transporation methods, etc.

    That said, all the modern changes my not be for the better. *shrugs* Oh God! I’m sounding like a Republican… Where did I put my mental floss?

  5. The Republicans are everywhere. Here In Indiana they closed down several BMV’s and now are crying because they’re getting poor service and long lines. To get Medicaid they now have to go through a private company. The toll roads have been leased to a foreign syndicate for 75 years to charge what they please.Many more atrocities too many to mention. The Governor laughs and says I’m probably not going to run for office next time, I’ve done what I needed too and nothing can be changed. Why can’t we have a recall vote like california, why? I was a new teenager in 65 toldja I was old!

Leave a Reply

