The Joys of Home Ownership

Sunday was work on the house day at ye olde crap shack.  First up was yard work.

Every day for the past week it has been raining at the time I wanted to mow the grass so this meant that 1. the grass wasn’t mowed, and 2. it was about 3 times as high as usual.  No problem, it’s just going to take me a few extra minutes to get the lawn/weeds cut.  I mowed and mowed and mowed. 

I finished the front yard as that is what everybody driving by will see then I started on the side yard.  I went around the edges and then a short distance into the back then it happened – Thwack… thwack, thwack… OUCH!  thwack, thwack, thwack.  Yes folks, I ran over a nest of yellow jackets!  *ugh*  I got stung about 6 times.  I managed to pull the mower out of the way and let go of it which turned off the engine, then I ran away.  I carefully walked back towards the area I was getting hit to see where the nest was (need to tell the exterminator where it is) and I saw one of the little buggers make a literal bee line to me and sting me on the right hand.  OUCH!  Perhaps I shouldn’t wear a red shirt when mowing the grass?

Side note:  I kept unintentionally chasing poor Fuzzy the rabbit around with the mower.  I can only imagine what the poor critter was thinking and I think the rabbit has moved into the back yard now and has probably been sleeping like crazy since it is nocturnal and I had it awake at 1PM yesterday.

After the lawn mowing bee incident I decided it was time to start jacking up the floor where the support has given way.  This took me about 30 minutes to set up the jacks and make the first adjustment.  This is a slow process and will likely take me a couple of months since you can only lift the floor about 1/8 to 1/4 inch each week.  At least I have the project started. 

After that I cleaned the bathroom as I had neglected it for about a month since I was mostly traveling. 

Yesterday was very productive.   I guess Sundays are not a day of rest for me.

5 Responses to “The Joys of Home Ownership”

  1. You city folks spend way too much money on exterminators and such. I had a nest of ground hornets and I poured a little Kerosene in the hole and next day they were gone. I would recommend doing it early in the morning before they start flying out and in. Do you do all your jacking real slow? I know I’m bad;-)

  2. I need someone to mow my lawn. 🙂 It won’t get done today though … seeing how it’s an Ozone Action Day.

  3. Ozone action day? If your mass transit is free beware of homeless people masturbating on the bus.

  4. I think that Fuzzy needs to get out more.

  5. I try to avoid our bus … it takes an hour and three buses to go from my house to my work … and it’s only 10 miles. Go figure.

    Although I did see a moron sitting in a car outside the school … with his engining running. Grr.

Leave a Reply

