Food for the Challenged Hungry

This past Saturday I was up in Washington, DC and did something I’ve been wanting to do for some time.  This weekend I decided to give back to a community and I took part in a volunteer effort with the Burgundy Crescent Volunteers to help a local food bank prepare its deliveries.  I decided this would be a simple way to start a good karma campaign in my personal life and that the impact would be small. 

While the impact overall was small on the actual effort the situation had an impact with me – one I didn’t expect. 

The process started out simply enough as our job was to fill the paper bags with the prepared meals and foodstuffs to create a single package to be delivered to the recipient.  It was about half way through I started noticing things.  While reading the label on each bag you could see what part of the Washington area the folks lived in.   Then I hit one that smacked me in the brain like a ton of bricks – the address was “Homeless” and gave a general location where the delivery driver could find the person. 

That was really hard to see and made me quite sad.  I knew this stuff happened in my country, I knew that there were people out there really less fortunate than I am, but until I saw that I never really understood the differences in how I live and how they do.

I learned a lot last Saturday about the world and myself.

6 Responses to “Food for the Challenged Hungry”

  1. Yes, charity begins at home and there is a great need right here in the USA. Why do the Billionaires like Gates and Warren Buffet give their charity to the other side of the world when people here are going to bed hungry and many of them as you found out don’t have a bed to sleep in or a shelter over their head. Millions including myself can’t afford health care coverage. The minimum wage hasn’t been raised since 1993 and all the while the legislature have raised their own wages every year. I think all congress people should get paid minimum wage. What do you think it would be then?

  2. Volunteering for the food bank?
    Good karma campaign?
    Moved by a delivery to a homeless person?
    Learning a lot about the world and yourself?

    Cynics do not do these things, my galactic friend. OPTIMISTS do them. Hopeful, caring, conscientious people do them. Dare I sense a mushy interior somewhere in there?

  3. It is amazing to me the differences between the US and Germany or The Netherlands. As MT will tell you, when she and I were approached by a “homeless” guy in Amsterdam, I told him to go get help from The Netherland’s famous social safety net. I’ve been reminded a couple of times by German friends that the homeless are homeless by choice and not because the State doesn’t offer them help.

    It’s a bit depressing that we have to depend upon the kindness of strangers to help the homeless, although I can safely say that I’m glad you’re one of the strangers…

  4. Cynical Queer Says:

    Nome – Yes, not something typically done by cynics.

    Adam – I think some of the folks I see are the street are not what they appear to be. We’ve had several panhandling incidents uncovered in the USA where they were making more a year than I do. So if I were to continue to provide some sort of assistance it will be through volunteer work. That way there is a buffer between me and the people receiving the aid.

    Though I did give a panhandler something one time since his sign said something like, “Need money for booze.”  I felt the honesty deserved some sort of contribution.

  5. I see that you comented on Nome and Adams comments but not on mine. I hope that was just an oversight or you just didn’t have time. If I am being ignored please let me know and I won’t bother you anymore. I hope to hear that your crap shack has turned into a love shack where C. can get together with bf. Love shack…Love shack…

  6. No Ed, not ignoring you. The other two were the only ones I felt like commenting on at the time. I like your comments and you’re welcome to come here and leave them for as long as you desire.

Leave a Reply

