Jure Sanguinis

I bet this will come out of left field for most of you.

What is jure sanguinis?

The loose translation is, continuity of blood.

So what does this mean to me?

1. Should I be able to accurately verify the genealogy behind my ancestry, I’ll be able to obtain dual-citizenship as a citizen of the United States and a European Union nation I’ll identify later. For now I’ll identify this country as EU State X. This process does not work for everyone, but from my initial family research it may work for me.

2. Traveling abroad. I would be able to enter foreign countries that are hostile to the United States without having to show a US Passport. As a dual-citizen I would be allowed to hold a passport in both the USA and EU State X.

3. I would be able to move to, live in, and work in *any* EU country without a work visa. As a citizen of EU State X I would be a citizen of the EU. While not exactly the same it would be similar to being a citizen of South Dakota and being able to live and work in California. I’d also be able to pass through the EU lines at passport control in the Euro Zone and the UK.

Are you crazy?!? The USA is a wonderful place.

No, I’m not crazy. However with the political situation in the US as it is now, and it’s seemingly downward spiral into becoming the Fourth Reich, I want to have options. This will give me a HUGE option. I can just tell the US to fuck-off if things get too bad. While setting up in EU State X would be difficult, I think I’d prefer it over the concentration camps I see coming to the US sometime during my lifetime.

I’m in the exploratory phase of this right now so I may have some misinformation here. I’ll correct and update this as needed when I get firm facts but the official documents I have obtained from EU State X lead me to believe I am on the right track.

I’ll know if I have a reasonable chance of this working out in a week or two. So either this will be a year long process, or I’ll know in a couple weeks if I’m not eligible.

7 Responses to “Jure Sanguinis”

  1. Until Arnold king of California, I mean governor, revealed that he is a citizen of both the USA and Austria I didn’t know dual citizenship was allowed. Maybe I should look into it too. My grandfather was born in a European country and came here to the US in 1904 through Ellis Island.

  2. I think that Country X may be the only EU-15 country that is so generous. This benefit from the new EU-10 is not as valuable, at least not for another few years.

  3. Cynical Queer Says:

    Ed – the problem will come when you get into the research. If your grandfather took a citizenship oath to the US, he renounced his citizenship and that would probably mean "game over" for your chances.

    For the process I'm going through it is VERY important that the person I'm linked to was not a naturalized US citizen. If he wasn't, then he passed his citizenship down to me through the generations provided nobody in my "chain" renounced citizenship to EU State X.

    I found out from a cousin today that he only had the early 20th century version of a green card, meaning he was a resident alien but not a citizen. Now I have to get the successor agency to the INS to verify that. But that is the BIG hurdle I have to overcome.

    I still have one thing to verify with the consulate I'm working with though and if my answer comes back positive it will simply be a matter of obtaining all the documentation.

    The most difficult piece will be getting the birth certificate of the ancestor involved from the appropriate place as I do not know the specific sub-territory (IE state/province) of EU State X they came from.

  4. Did everyone that became a US citizen renounce their citizenship from the country they left? I have a copy of my grandfathers birth certificate. He was born in Eldon, Durham, England 25 Feb. 1890.

  5. Ed, at least today, generally speaking becoming a citzen of another country does not mean you renouncing citizenship from your first country: these are different countries.

    It is possible, say in Germany, that in order to become a citzen of Germany you are required to renounce your citzenship of your first country. There are official and unoffical ways around this requirement though.

  6. Cynical Queer Says:

    J thinks I'm off my rocker for wanting to obtain a second citizenship. His rationale is that he feels it is a big waste of time and money.

    I'm doing it because I like having multiple options.

  7. […] sanguinis petition paperwork.  For those of you that have no idea what I’m talking about please refer to my post back in June 2006 where I spoke about it.   I’m starting to encounter a few issues with it as I pull the […]

Leave a Reply

