Travelin’ Man – Part 3, driving like a hurricane!

Hi all, I’m back from Florida. After this experience I now must agree with my good friend that Florida should be taken off my list of places to live. Quite frankly I found the state from Orlando going north to be quite ugly. See what happens when you get googly-eyed at a place from only visiting?

Yesterday I woke up at 5:00 in the morning and got ready to go to Conservative Hell Capitol City airport to catch a 7:30 flight to Orlando. The flight was pleasant enough and thank God there wasn’t a traffic jam at security as I just made my flight. I have a few photos of the trip. I intended to take many more, but as the title says, I drove like a hurricane. Yes folks, I woke up in Conservative Hell, flew to Florida, picked-up the car, and then drove all the way back in time to sleep in my own bed last night. It was weird leaving CH and visiting Florida and then sleeping in my own bed in CH again the same night.

Here is what things looked like when I arrived in Orlando, FL You can click on any of the photos to make them larger.

The first photo is proof-positive that I was at the Orlando Airport. The second shows the back-up at the security checkpoint at this facility. Had I been doing this task in reverse, I never would have made my plane on time.


Here I am approaching Interstate 4 eastbound from the Seminole Expressway tollroad. This is the lowest numbered Interstate in the country. There are no Interstates 1, 2, or 3. Prior to yesterday the lowest numbered interstate I had driven on was Interstate 5. I have also driven on the highest numbered interstate (I-99 in Pennsylvania).

The next photo was taken after I had driven from Daytona Beach, FL through Georgia and into South Carolina. This is the South Carolina welcome center on I-95 in Hardeesville, SC. As you can see it is woefully under-built to handle the traffic coming to it from Florida to points north. Right now it is “winter” in Florida, the time of year those folks hiding out from snow return to their northern homes.

The final photo is a picture of the Steeda modified Ford Focus that I drove from Orlando to Conservative Hell. This photo was taken this morning in my backyard (see previous post).

4 Responses to “Travelin’ Man – Part 3, driving like a hurricane!”

  1. I don’t think florida is so ugly, but then again any place not covered with snow looks beautiful to me. I am glad you made it home safe and sound.

  2. And without incident in direct conflict with your preminitions.
    Though maybe those were for the many cars I saw wrecked on the side of the road in South Carolina. There were some pretty nasty storms moving through there on I-26 yesterday.

  3. Glad you made it back safely…

    I would want to do that drive in a day or less as well.

    Glad you made it to your own bed.

  4. Ugh! Florida! I effing hate that state. Little known trivia about MT: I worked in a tollbooth on the Florida Turnpike one summer – where the turnpike merged with the northern end of the Sawgrass Expressway. Blah.

Leave a Reply

