Why the South lost the Civil War… A theory

Since this is post #200, I thought I would post my mildly amusing theory about why the South lost the Civil War.

My experience is that Southerners do not adapt well to snow. I’m guessing that a light dusting of snow appeared in front of the Confederate Army so they folded up their tents and went home. During their trip to Fort Living Room, they over ran the general stores and picked them clean of all flour and dry milk – the 1860’s equivalent of buying all the milk and bread from the grocery store.

That’s what I think.

5 Responses to “Why the South lost the Civil War… A theory”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    It is not the Bible that is at fault but the know it all yahoos that have the audacity to say they know what God thinks on every subject. Most religious people seem to be very conservative, this is odd, because Jesus was definitely a Liberal! He told several people,”Sell all your possessions and give the money to the poor”. One man wanted to be Jesus’ disciple but he was very rich (and Conservative?) He went away very sad because Jesus said to sell every thing he had and follow him. Then Jesus said, “Be careful where you place your treasures, for where your treasure is there will your heart be also”. Jesus then said, It is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle than for a rich man to enter heaven. I too have turned against the established religions, but I will never turn away from God for he alone has the keys to eternal life. Only God can make something from nothing. HOw would you explain the universe? Big Bang? Please, where did the particles and matter come from? When there was nothing in the universe and darkness was on the face of the deep only God could bring light.Join with me as we face those who claim to speak God’s will,There are far, far, greater things in heaven and earth than are dreamt of in thy philosphy you conservative hipocrit! That’s all I got for now, thanks for letting me vent. later, dude!

  2. Hey Chris, hope you don’t delete the previous comment just because its from “anonymous”. It was amusing, although why it’s a comment on “Why The South Lost The Civil War” is beyond my perception. Also, it’s a revelation to me that you are a “conservative HIPOCRIT”.

    In any case, the comment has some valid points…the person named jesus, from all written accounts..does seem to be quite the liberal. Now, whether or not the mythology in that book should be taken as “fact” is a personal choice. Enough from me…let’s hear your viewpoint dude!

  3. I agree… Me conservative? Go figure. *shrugs*

    I’m not quite sure why this was put here. There was a very active thread about 2 weeks ago on religion/first amendment issues.

    The anonymous poster does bring up a couple of interesting philosophical questions. Me? I think the big bang was a result of divine guidance from the Flying Spaghetti Monster

  4. I was trying to figure out what this person was thinking when they posted. But it’s possible I am giving them more credit than they deserve? Damn funny tho…

  5. Once when I was in 7th grade, our whole city shut down for a week because of an ice storm. My dad was stuck in the Atlanta airport that whole time. He was really proud of the fact that he hit 21 of the 23 bars that were in the airport back then. Go figure.

Leave a Reply

