Alabama’s necks are getting redder…

Dear Alabama,

Please keep your dogma off people’s carma.

Sincerely,

Chris

11 Responses to “Alabama’s necks are getting redder…”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Chris,

    I am amazed at your comments on your blog. You seem to be so proud of being a liberal. I thought one thing liberals were all about was freedom of speech and choice. It seems to me that Alabama is using those freedoms to use. Oh wait, you want freedom of speech and choice if it is what you want to say. That is a double standard. By the way, one day you will realize that the Bible is true. I pray that it is before it is too late. God bless you.

  2. Dear Anonymous,

    Yes, I’m VERY PROUD to be a liberal. What’s wrong with that?

    As for my my wanting freedom of speech… yes, that is exactly what I want. The double-standard is your expecting me to place on my PERSONAL vehicle a license plate that has a message I do not agree with. Would you want a Satanic pentagram put on the state mandated plate issued to YOUR car? Or perhaps you’d be unlucky enough to draw at random the license plate that has 666 as part of the standard sequence on it.

    I’m guessing you would find that offensive and that’s the point I’m making.

    I don’t have a problem with religion, it just needs to stay in the church/synagogue/mosque/your home/etc. and out of OUR government.

    Part of me thinks this is one of my regular readers pulling my leg again. *shrugs*

  3. The phrase comes from the Irving Berlin song “God Bless America.” The song was made famous by singer Kate Smith and since the Sept. 11 terrorist attacks has replaced “Take Me Out To The Ballgame” as the tune most often sung during the seventh inning stretch of Major League Baseball games.

    Please tell me the part about the baseball games isn’t true.

  4. I don’t attend baseball games, so I really don’t know. Woops! I bet anonymous thinks I’m not patriotic now.

  5. Bad Adam! Bad Chris! You need to be more patriotic! Of course … once my dog peed on an American flag. Some moron went around and put teensy tiny flags in the ground on Flag Day. OF COURSE a dog was going to eventually pee on it. WTF…

    By the way, I grew up in Alabama. The plates used to be way more cluttered than they are now.

  6. Anonymous Says:

    Chris,

    I have 2 questions for you.. 1). If you do not live in Alabama, why do you really care what they are doing? 2). If you are so upset about being stuck in a “conservative hell”, why don’t you move to the north where there are plenty of liberals instead of ruining the south?

  7. To answer anonymous’ questions:

    1. I care because it is not the responsiblity of the state to promote religion. It is the responsibility of the various religious leaders to do so.

    2. I’m hanging around waiting for more people like me to move here. It’s happening and there isn’t anything you can do about it! Eventually the scales will tip to our favor at which point I’ll be cracking open the head of the first baby I see to eat its brain. At least that’s the impression I think you have of all liberals.

    Also, where did you get the crazy notion I’m from the north? What is it with all of you people on the east coast? North vs. South? Take a look at a map, the country is about 1500 miles WIDER than you think it is.

    Oh, and when you get ready to banish me to hell because I like to suck cock, remember this – that credit card you use to buy all that Nascar “collectible” crap at Wal-Mart will send you to the same hell I’m going to. It’s in the same section of the Bible if you bothered to read it.

  8. Anonymous Says:

    Chris,

    I did not have such judgemental thoughts until your latest response. My biggest issue was simply that the idea of freedom of choice and speech went both ways. If the majority of Alabama wants religious slogans on their car, then that should be the way it goes. If others do not like it, then move to a state where those terms are not present on the tags… don’t change it.

    I never said you were from the north. It is well known that more liberals live in the north or in California. That is fine. I would just choose not to reside in either of those locations because it does not fit to my likings. I feel that it is unfair to go to an area and try to change the majority! Perhaps I should decide to go to an area where gay marriages are legal and make such a stir that the decision is over-ruled. How would that make you feel? Instead, I will choose to stay away from that environment. I would ask the same respect from you.

    In response to religion, yes, I am a very religious person. I do wish that you, a person I have never met, would come to know Christ. I also know that it is ultimately your choice to do what you want to do. Your friend said that people are always trying to convert him. This is my response to that: if people are trying to reach you, you have people that care about your soul. If you come to a point where no one is trying to reach you, you are at a sad point in your life. My prayer is that you will understand that. God is present and active! Just look around.

  9. Uh… I think CQ cares because he’s a believer in the First Amendment.
    As an American who’s basically agnostic, I don’t think that any state should be forcing anybody to drive around a car that says “In God We Trust.” I want my government to be religion neutral–neither forcing the Christian belief on me, nor my beliefs (or lack thereof) on Christians. The best way to achieve this is to not put “In God We Trust” on a license plate. Nor, for that matter, the Flying Spaghetti Monster, which comes closest to describing my beliefs.
    That’s the funny thing, by the way–I am perfectly content to allow Christians to be Christians–go to Church, read the Bible, etc…, but the Christian right is rarely content to allow me to not be Christian (they try to convert me, tell me I’m going to hell, attempt to put their “god” on a license plate) or to be gay (Reparative Therapy, anybody? No electrodes on my penis, thank you very much!).
    Food for thought!

  10. Dear Anonymous: You don’t quite get the point about not putting “God Bless America” on license plates–even if a majority of people want it, that doesn’t make it right. There are many examples where a majority of people wanted something that was stupid–Slavery for one. Or, in a more drastic example, a majority of people in Germany were supportive of Hitler.

    Government must be (a) neutral toward religions and (b) protective of minorities.

    I dare say there are a lot of Alabamans who do not want “God Bless America” on their license plates–just not a majority. If Alabama is like most other states there are probably a lot of Muslims, some Hindus, Buddists, and Wiccans–and I’m willing to guess that many of those individuals do not want such a phrase on their license plates.

    Now for the gay marrige point: Remember majorities are not always right. Gay marriage is about a civil contract between two people who happen to be of the same gender. Few in the gay marriage movement are advocating forcing churches to marry people in the religous sense. I do suggest that you move to one of the four places where true gay marriage is allowed (The Netherlands, Canada, Belgium, or Spain)–besides the fact that people will think you are a strange America, you’ll notice that those societies have not self destructed and in fact are amongst the strongest economic and socially developed countries in the world.

    If you consider the one example in the United States, Massachusetts — you’ll find a state with a strong economy and the second lowest divorce rate in the United States. It also has the highest rate of litteracy–and its social indicators are usually very high in those areas that most Americans think are important (see litteracy, for example. Alabama is wasting a lot of time on something stupid when they could be trying to fix their schools).

    Finally, as for people trying to convert me: since I’ve moved to Germany, I’ve had one person try to convert me — an American, ironically. He was trying to convice me to become a Mormon.

  11. Anonymous has clearly never heard of, “Tyranny of the majority”.

    Also, you mentioned you “…did not have such judgemental thoughts until your latest response…” to which I say you’re incorrect. The reason for my saying that is that the second sentence of your first comment took a dig at my political beliefs. I did not delete your post because I believe it is fair and correct to allow dissent. I even left it there while you hid behind being anonymous. Why do you not show your name? Are you embarassed about something?

    As for your comments regarding religion and how I need to be saved, etc. Plenty of people in the United States lately seem to have religion, however VERY few actually have faith. I’m guessing you have plenty of the first and not much of the last.

    Lastly, I invite you to show who you are. I’m kind of curious.

Leave a Reply

