Getting ready to close

Well here I sit one day before I close on my house. This is an exciting time in my life and hopefully I’ll make the adjustment well. I’m really looking forward to this.

As anyone that has ever purchased a home knows, this is the most stressful week I’ve ever had in my life. This has been more stressful than nearly being in a plane crash, army basic training, finishing my degree, or even getting stranded at the airport in a blizzard. I think my hair is going more salt and less pepper at the moment.

As part of my closing process I’m making sure I have my i’s dotted and t’s crossed. So naturally at 6:30 PM last night (1 business day to closing) I get a call from the mortgage folks. Yes, the mortgage company decided the last business day before closing was the time to start playing 20 questions with me. So now that I’ve cleared that up (I hope) we should be a go for closing at 2:00 tomorrow.

Since I have been frazzled this week with the house and the car incident, I decided today that I would go get a haircut. It’s not that I have time to get a haircut, I just needed to do something that wasn’t house or car related. It put some normalcy back into my life. Who would ever think that a haircut would do that?

After getting my hair cut, I dropped by the big box hardware store to see when my appliances would be delivered. I knew it was Saturday, but I wanted to know what time. Their response, “Sometime Saturday, they will call you before they arrive…” Apparently this means that it will happen Saturday sometime between 7:30 AM and death. They did say that I could call them and find out a more specific time Saturday morning.

Anyhow, it’s looking more and more like I’ll actually be moving. A friend is helping me with ferrying my cars to the new place. I’m leaving the one I drove to work today at her house and she is driving me back up to the old place tonight. I’ll simply drive the other car to work tomorrow, then both my cars will be in my new, old town.

Friday, I should once again be a resident of Conservative Hell.

Leave a Reply

