House Hunting

I looked at a house yesterday. It was a nice house, and the folks that own it have obviously taken care with its upkeep. Naturally since I’m interested in it, an offer was made on it by someone else that day. That is the second time that has happened. I’m not going to submit a competing contract, because that leads to bidding wars, and I refuse to do that! You want that to happen when you’re selling, not buying.

This is a good thing as the main drawback to that house is that it is on a busy street with no way to drive in and out without backing onto that street. I’ll keep looking.

Today, I’m going to see a house that is about two-thirds larger and is on a well traveled street, but not a 4-lane thoroughfare like the last. It is listed at a price about one-third higher than the other one, but the neighborhood is FANTASTIC. I’d definitely see appreciation in value. This one also has a 1-car garage and sits on about half of an acre in the city.

I’m not sure if I can swing this house though. Unless my folks REALLY want to help, it may be beyond my range, but it has a lot of potential, so if there is a will, there is a way.

I’ll keep you all posted.

UPDATE 3:37PM

Is it possible to have a hard-on over a house? This one is exactly what I’m looking for. It has potential to be worth about $200K after I make some cosmetic updates. That’s $75K more than asking price.

Leave a Reply

